A Better Life to Come

                The wind is howling outside my window, and you popped into my head, awoke me from a sound but restive sleep. How you crawled into my bed with me I’ll never know. I barred the door and when I came in I was alone, but there you are panting in my ear and laying a damp paw gently against my moist cheek, wiping the tears that formed in my percipitous sleep. I dreamed it, I know. You’re not really here but I don’t care, I love you just the same, whether you choose to come or whether you already came. I will never leave you howling at my window or bleating in the street. Come, let’s go make some cocao then try all over again to forget the pain that comes from our existence,  and dream of a better life to come.

image

Leave a Reply

